Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

Game » consists of 15 releases. Released Nov 17, 2004

The third installment in the Metal Gear Solid franchise is swathed in the Cold War, and it's up to a strangely familiar soldier codenamed Naked Snake to keep the Soviet Union and the United States from all-out nuclear war.

Why does Jeff hate this game so much?

• 56 results
    lasse_momme

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I'm pretty new to Giant Bomb and I'm loving it so far, but I was a bit surprised to hear that Jeff doesn't like this game and I haven't been able to find any background on why he doesn't think it's a good game.

splodge

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By splodge

It is just not his thing.

ottoman673

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

Because not every game is for everyone.

Sincerely,

8.8 Halo 2 Reviewer Jeff Gerstmann

RedRoach

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#4  Edited By RedRoach

I remember a long time ago they he said that he just hated the mechanics of it. The healing system and having to stop and worry about food and camo seems like the exact kind of annoying thing Jeff would hate.

JosephKnows

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 18

I don't think he's ever liked the controls in the first three MGS games, and 3 doesn't really have super intuitive controls. The button sensitivity in 3 for the combat and enemy hold up options certainly don't help.

He also doesn't have much patience for stealth games. 1 and 2 had way more predictable guard patrols, but the open spaces of 3 made sneaking much harder. No SOLITON radar that shows vision cones adds an extra layer of challenge (or frustration on Jeff's part). The default camera doesn't do the game any favors either.