Who to contact about licensing the API for a commercial project?

l3monade

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By l3monade

Hi all, hoping someone can help me.

I've been trying to get in touch with someone to discuss the use of the Giant Bomb API for a website I'm currently developing. My site could become a commercial venture at some point so I wanted to get in touch - as the API docs indicate we can "work something out". I've tried contacting giant bomb via the email addresses in the API docs...no luck/response.

A little about me:

I'm an independent web designer/developer from Vancouver, Canada and I'm building a site/app on the side of my full time job.

About the site/app:

The site uses "Twitter style" status updates to announce when a user is playing a game, gives a game a star rating, or wants to play a game. It also allows the user to create and manage a "wish list" of games they wish to play. I have other features in mind but the core of the site is to allow users to "journal" their gaming.

The site is not a wiki, nor a content focused site. "Games" from the API would be used in status updates, wish lists..etc. If games exist on their own page, the page content would be related to how users have interacted with the game (for example: a list of recent activity where users have mentioned a specific game). Obviously those pages will have the "Whisky Powered" badge as stated in the API documentation.

The url is here http://www.dpadd.com however the site is still in the early development stages and not ready for outside eyes :)

Potential revenue models for the site that I may or may not explore:

• Amazon (or other) affiliate links to buy games. For example if you add a game to your wish list there my be a "buy it now" link.
  • Advertising
  • Maybe a "pro account" in the future that would unlock more advanced features for power users.