Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Total noob's first gaming PC? Plus bonus rant!

BothBarsOn

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By BothBarsOn

I'm kind of intrigued by the idea of PC gaming but I don't know where to start. I've been idly poking around in the PC sections of other gaming sites and  I have to say, I don't think a lot of PC heads realise how off-putting they sound to outsiders. It tends to go like this:

Innocent, hopeful beginner: "I'm thinking of getting into PC gaming. I've been looking at this Dell blah blah. Do you think-"
    Everyone: "Don't be a moron! Build your own rig! Pre-builts are for old ladies! You're not an old lady, are you? ARE YOU?"

I know, I know. Technically, building a PC is just snapping pieces together, but then, technically, performing a heart and lung transplant is just moving meat around. It's not a prospect that a below-average Joe like myself would relish. Don't get me wrong, I love reading about the high-end rigs that serious experts put together (and I like using the word "rig"), but I'm never going to have the nerve to try it myself. I've only ever used a hermetically-sealed Mac, so installing a new graphics card would be an adventure for me ... 

Anyway: would anyone care to recommend a reasonably priced beginner's gaming PC? Something that will make me forget there's such a thing as an Xbox 360 but won't break the bank (say <$2000)? So long as it was made by someone else and then put in a nice box, I don't have any other criteria to go by.

A much longer post than I intended - sorry for that and thanks in advance.

Avatar image for deactivated-590b56fc03f47
    deactivated-590b56fc03f47

Forum Posts

Wiki Points