Lockdown and trying to enjoy single player games again

scrappypixels

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By scrappypixels

I've been a member here for about 8 years now and been watching for about 9. I don't often post and when I do it's usually just to try and give support or minor advice about things I know.

My name is Adam. I'm 30 and live in the UK. I live with an awesome whippet named Blue and I work as a Developer mainly working on applications and websites, a job I've been doing now since around 2015. My life in 2015 was a lot different than it is now, i had just met my (now ex) fiance and was pretty anxious about getting into the world of programming.

Fast forward to 2021 and a lot has changed but a lot of that change has happened in the last six/seven months. It's hard not to feel isolated recently as my fiance and I split on Christmas Eve but without dwelling too much on that I've been lucky enough to have Blue beside me throughout this.

Since our split up, I can't seem to enjoy any single player games. I seem to only enjoy playing with friends and to be honest, I only play with about 2/3 friends regularly.

This leaves me wanting to play games but everytime i pick something up, I can only get about an hour through it before I feel like giving up.

When me and my partner were together, I would love blasting my way through campaigns. It felt like I was entering a new world where anything was possible but these days they all just feel fabricated and lonely.

A part of me wishes I had more friends to play games with but another part of me just wishes I could fall back in love with single player games.

There isn't much point to this blog, guess i'm just looking to vent a little but also maybe see if anyone else has felt the same way? Does anyone else get this lonely feeling in these big open world single player games? Does anyone else wish they had a few more friends who played games?