Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Little Nightmares

Game » consists of 8 releases. Released Apr 28, 2017

Platformer game for PS4, PC and Xbox One.

Schlocktober '21: Little Nightmares is an aesthetic triumph but is not very fun to play.

bigsocrates

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By bigsocrates  Online

Note: Although this was posted in November the game itself was played in October.

SCHLOCKTOBER '21: This October I played a number of games with Halloween appropriate themes, focusing on older and less appreciated games in my backlog. These aren't necessarily horror games but rather games with strong horror elements. I've decided to blog about these games and whether I think they're still worth playing as a seasonal treat or the gaming equivalent of an apple full of razor blades.

Little Nightmares marks the turning point in my Schlocktober marathon where I started playing games with actual horror elements instead of just horror aesthetics. Little Nightmares is a 3D platformer whose most obvious inspirations are Limbo and Inside; from which it draws much of its structure and many of its aesthetic choices. Like those games your character is a small child, named Six, in a surreal and hostile world. In this case it’s a massive ocean liner known as The Maw where there’s some very hinky stuff going on. Like Inside the game deals more in concepts and images than any kind of concrete narrative, putting you in situations where your tiny character has to traverse environments where everything is massive in comparison to her. The game is scaled as if you were the size of a kitten as compared to a human, and you are constantly trying to figure out how to do things like grab a door handle that’s several times your height off the ground, or move objects that weigh more than you do. Your small size also allows you to fit into tiny cracks and holes, which comes in handy both for getting through the Maw and hiding from its