Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Killer Instinct

Game » consists of 13 releases. Released Nov 22, 2013

The fighting game series that defined high-risk, high-reward combos returns as a free-to-play launch title for the Xbox One, later receiving constant updates with new characters and game modes. It can also be played on Windows 10 systems with cross-platform multiplayer.

Shadow Fighters VS Online MP

Avatar image for schrodngrsfalco
    SchrodngrsFalco

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 7

#1  Edited By SchrodngrsFalco

I don't have an XBone and Killer Instinct; I have a PS4/PC and Mortal Kombat X. I love MKX, but hate the inevitable latency of online matches. This latency is not only a nuissence, but also a factor that can influence how the game is played completely from a strategic standpoint. It can also be a reason you drop quite a few combos which is critical in a combo heavy game like MKX. Listening to the BombCrew talk about the Shadow Fighters from Killer Instinct left me astounded that this isn't a standard in almost all fighting games that tout tight reflexes as a skill. This feature is much more attractive to me than latency matches online.

I should say that it is the concept that I am enjoying because in addition to not playing it, it is clear that it is not without its flaws. In the perfect world, the AI fights exactly like you, but as the crew stated, it takes multiple fights against all the opponents to truly end up proper. Even so, I think that this would only make me more excited to play the game itself; I would be constantly wanting to improve my AI, much in the same way that I get an itch to level up my characters in RPGs and what not. To add, the reward of training my AI character are raised exponentially by knowing that they would be fighting against other players. In a sense, the feature draws a positive reaction from me from even its flaw.