A methodology of pre-order sales over sales (A Ubisoft Story)

thenexus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 5

Hey all,

I watched the above video today, we all have seen similar ones and in different games, but I have been thinking the following for some time in regard to Ubisoft as well as other game companies.

Firstly
I just want to make it clear, being a developer, I fully understand deadlines. A game has a release date, you optimise the game, things can get cut and you may have to tune down many aspects of the game to make a deadline or just to make it run smoothly. It happens, especially for consoles.

Secondly
At events like E3 you, of course want to show your product off in the best possible way to the media and the consumers who will purchase those games. There is always going to be of extra shoe polish going on.

In saying that though..

I think Ubisoft especially has a very clear model of production in their games. Clearly we all know how similar their games are in structure, people have compared graphical "features" through the games and so on. But for me, it is ever becoming clearer that Ubisoft put a massive focus on the hype machine and getting those pre-order sales through. It clearly seems to be a big focus for Ubisoft and they do what they can to obtain them. As this video shows pretty much every time Ubisoft show of games, what is delivered in the graphical sense, while some like the division still look nice are a pale comparison to initial showings. Watchdogs was a massive drop. And many will argue, early gameplay fidelity also drops when they get their hands on the retail version from playing it at events or presentations early on.

Ubisoft often reference their pre-orders, even if the games do not rate well, bad reviews or longer term sales are poor, its the pre-orders, fastest this and that of pre-orders. It is the pre-orders that matter.