Image Gallery

risseless

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 10

#1  Edited By risseless

I'm new to this GB API thing (very awesome by the way), but I don't see a way in the documentation to get a list of galleries for a game, or see what galleries an image is in, etc. Nothing to do with galleries whatsoever. Any plans for this? Did I miss it in the docs?

mosdl

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 5

#2  Edited By mosdl

You do get a list of images, but it doesn't contain all images

LordAndrew

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 36

#3  Edited By LordAndrew

You can only get the default image, plus 10 of the most recent images if the resource is a game. That's probably best, actually. You really don't want to run into copyright problems with images you can't even control. You could probably claim fair use for the default image and ten screenshots. Anything more may be risking it.

If you really want to grab all the images from a gallery, maybe you could try scraping.

risseless

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By risseless

I was going to use it to make a list of games that are missing box art, by looking in each game's "Box Art" gallery. But I can make the assumption that the primary image is the box art. It's not quite as accurate, but good enough.

LordAndrew

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 36

#5  Edited By LordAndrew
@risseless: Even without knowing whether it's box art, that would be a very useful list. Myself, I've thought about using the API to generate various types of lists for maintenance purposes. Have you ever seen the database reports on Wikipedia? I love those things. Of course we don't have database access like toolserver users do, but the API is a decent alternative.