Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Monster Hunter: World

Game » consists of 4 releases. Released Jan 26, 2018

The fifth primary title in the Monster Hunter franchise features much larger maps, seamless transitions between zones in the map and four-player online co-op. It allows players from Japan and western countries to play together for the first time in the series.

First time Monster Hunter - may have hit the wall VERY early?

asmo917

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 12

As the title says, this is my first time playing Monster Hunter and my prior experience was essentially Jason's quick looks. I've been playing World very, very slowly and I hit a story quest where I just got destroyed, but it's probably not one you'd expect.

I had a little trouble with the Wildspire Waste's first quest because I didn't think to use my slinger to deal with the Barroth's mud armor. I dealt with the next fish thing fine. But the Tobi-Kadachi just fuuuuuuucked me right up. I was wearing almost a full set of bone armor (Jagras greaves instead of bone) with all pieces upgraded to level 3. I had a sword and shield, the weapon type I've been using since the start - the bone kukri 3. This thing destroyed me like I was a gnat.

In fairness, I've only tried the quest once but I felt so outclassed, I was sure I was missing something. The only advice I saw in quick googling was to wear bone armor, which I was. I've been focused on story quests, I think I've done maybe 2 Investigations and gone on 3 or 4 Expeditions to do gathering quests or small monster cullings.

Do I just need to grind more? Abandon my bone armor for Barroth armor? Craft a new weapon set? The frustrating thing is I feel like I'm missing something important but don't know if it's that I'm playing badly, not engaging with a key system, a combination of both, or something completely different.

Strangestories

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0