Many modern metroidvanias minus exploration?

Avatar image for sometingbanuble
sometingbanuble

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 3

I started playing Axiom Verge and though it plays well. Looks cool and has great sound Im not about to sketch a map on notebook paper. I bounce between games and quit playing games for an extended enough period that it makes it difficult to ever pick up games like this again. They are so cheap to buy I keep on wasting money.

So the question is: which modern Metroidvanias have me just going right, with no backtracking?

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 8

#2  Edited By Justin258

Uh, Mega Man X, I suppose.

Anyway, while we're on the topic, I would like someone to suggest me a few first person puzzle games without any puzzles and maybe some menu-driven walking simulators, Edith Finch and Gone Home type stuff.

sometingbanuble

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By sometingbanuble

@justin258: kind of feel the snark. I’d say Tacoma if you want a first person walk simulator with no stupid puzzles. It’s kind of like Murder on the Orient express because there is more mystery (1 mystery doesn’t necessary qualify as multiple pluzzles). It’s also a walking simulator with a very menu driven story.

Being funny on the internet. Feels good?

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Justin258
@sometingbanuble said:

@justin258: kind of feel the snark. I’d say Tacoma if you want a first person walk simulator with no stupid puzzles. It’s kind of like Murder on the Orient express because there is more mystery (1 mystery doesn’t necessary qualify as multiple pluzzles). It’s also a walking simulator with a very menu driven story.

Being funny on the internet. Feels good?

...a little bit, yes, though honestly I should have suggested Metroid Fusion. EDIT: My suggestion of Metroid Fusion was also meant to be a cheeky jab at Fusion's linearity. /EDIT.